Professional Women’s Hockey League holds inaugural draft

On Monday the newly formed Professional Women’s Hockey League (PWHL) began their inaugural draft in Toronto at Noon. The draft is being livestreamed on CBC Sports’ YouTube page.

First overall Minnesota would select former University of Minnesota forward Taylor Heise.

The first Bulldog alum would be selected second overall as Toronto drafted Canadian defender Jocelyne Larocque. Former UMD captain, defender Ashton Bell would be selected eighth overall by Ottawa. Fellow former UMD captain, and Patty Kazmaier finalist, Gabbie Hughes was taken 20th overall by Ottawa, and Minnesota rounded out round four selecting Maggie Flaherty 24th overall.

15 skaters with ties to the University of Minnesota-Duluth declared for the draft. For that list, Click Here.

The draft is 15 rounds and is a snake draft, meaning the final team in each round picks first the following round. Minnesota has the first pick, followed by Toronto, Boston, New York, Ottawa and Montreal. 268 players are eligible to be drafted and 90 will hear their names called. For that full list, Click here. Undrafted players become free agents and can still attend training camp.

The puck is set to drop on the inaugural season in January 2024.