15 UMD alums listed as eligible for Monday’s PWHL inaugural draft

[anvplayer video=”5192238″ station=”998130″]

The newly formed Professional Women’s Hockey League (PWHL) announced the 268 players eligible for their inaugural draft, and 15 of them have ties to the University of Minnesota Duluth (UMD) women’s hockey team. They all officially declared for the draft by the September 3 deadline.

The Bulldog alums include three goalies, six forwards, and six defenders.

Goalies: Maddie Rooney, Emma Söderberg, and Blanka Škodová.

Forwards: Sydney Brodt, Michela Cava, Demi Crossman, Elizabeth Giguère, Gabbie Hughes, and Katerina Mrázová.

Defenders: Ashton Bell, Catherine Daoust, Maggie Flaherty, Jessia Healey, Jocelyne Larocque, and Sidney Morin.

In total 90 skaters will hear their names called in the 15 round draft Monday, September 18 starting at 12 p.m.. For the full list of draft eligible skaters, Click Here.

The inaugural PWHL teams will be based in Minnesota, the New York tri-state area, Boston, Toronto, Montreal and Ottawa.

RELATED STORY: New women’s pro hockey league provides sneak peak on its 6 markets: 3 in U.S. and 3 in Canada.