New Commissioners in Lake and Koochiching Counties

Two counties in Northern Minnesota held Special Elections for County Commissioner on Tuesday. Both Koochiching County and Lake County held Special Elections after the sitting commissioners died.

Unofficially, Joe Baltich won the Lake County seat with 53% of the vote. As results came in Baltich received 251 votes to Jack Nelson’s 223.

Baltich will fill the spot of former Commissioner Pete Walsh, who died earlier this year.

In Koochiching County, voters went to the polls to fill the seat previously held by Wayne Skoe who passed away earlier this year. Dale Erickson won with 63% of the vote, receiving 359 votes to challenger Rich Mastin’s 211 votes.

Votes will be certified later this month.

County Commissioners are responsible for the operation of the county and the delivery of county services. They also represent county concerns before local, state and national boards and commissions, including school boards, city councils, township boards, and state and federal offices. County commissioners work with constituents and respond to constituent concerns.