Douglas County voters elect a new Sheriff

Matthew Izzard will serve as the next Douglas County Sheriff.

Because all three candidates – Matt Izzard, Mark Liebaert, and Brian Witt – ran as Democrats, the winner of the primary wins the job.

Izzard won 62 percent of the vote.

Izzard has served as a correctional officer in the jail, patrol deputy, courthouse security member, and is currently a detective. According to his campaign website, he started with the Douglas County Sheriff’s Office in 2003.

Matt Izzard

Liebaert is the chair of the Douglas County Board of Supervisors. He said he served 13 years with the Superior Police Department and three years with the Department of Natural Resources.

Mark Liebaert

According to Witt’s website, he has worked for both the Superior Police Department and Douglas County Sheriff’s Office. He has spent the past 12 years as a Douglas County deputy.

Brian Witt

Current Douglas County Sheriff Tom Dalbec is not running again.