Arizona State University is coming to the NCHC conference

[anvplayer video=”5184115″ station=”998130″]

There will soon but some new competition for the University of Minnesota Duluth men’s hockey team as the National Collegiate Hockey Conference (NCHC) announced on Wednesday that Arizona State University will become a part of the conference.

For the first time since the conference began play in 2013, the NCHC conference is expanding, as the university has been accepted as the ninth member of the conference, beginning in the 2024-2025 season.

Arizona State will join Colorado College, the University of Denver, Miami University, the University of Minnesota Duluth, the University of Nebraska Omaha, the University of North Dakota, St. Cloud State University, and Western Michigan University in composing the NCHC’s membership.

Throughout their hockey status, the Sun Devils have quickly become a nationally competitive program under 15-year head coach Greg Powers. In 2018-19, the Sun Devils earned their first-ever top-10 win.

They will become an official member of the NCHC on July 1, 2024.