MSHSL list of school mascots and logos with ties to Native American culture

Early on Wednesday, the Minnesota Senate passed the Education Finance bill. The bill includes a provision prohibiting the use of Native American symbols or names as mascots unless all 11 Minnesota tribal nations approve an exemption.

We took a moment to look at different school district mascots throughout the state on the Minnesota State High School League website. Here is a list of some districts with mascots that may fall under this new provision.

Battle Lake High School – Battlers, Bulldogs (coops) (logo)
Benson High School – Braves
Brainerd High School – Warriors
Butterfield-Odin United – Warriors
Caledonia High School – Warriors
Cambridge Christian School – Warriors
Central Public Schools – Raiders
Cretin-Derham Hall – Raiders
Deer River High School – Warriors
Esko High School – Eskomos
Fond du Lac Ojibwe High School – Ogichidaag
Fourth Baptist Christian School – Warriors
Fulda High School – Raiders
Greenway High School – Raiders
Hastings High School – Raiders
Hmong College Prep Academy – Warriors
Isle High School – Raiders
Madelia High School – Blackhawks
Menahga High School – Braves
Nicollet High School – Raiders
Northfield High School – Raiders
Onamia High School – Raiders
Red Lake High School – Warriors
Sleepy Eye High School – Indians
St. Cloud Christian School – Warriors
Warroad High School – Warriors
West Lutheran High School – Warriors
Wheaton High School – Warriors

The Education Bill is in the hands of Gov. Tim Walz. No details have been given on how the renaming process would be handled. WDIO will continue to follow this story.