Red Flag Warning issued in northern and central Minnesota

The National Weather Service issued a Red Flag Warning in several counties in northern and central Minnesota. The Red Flag Warning is in effect on Sunday, May 28, from noon until 9 p.m., due to extreme fire risk conditions.

The counties impacted by the Red Flag Warning are Becker, Beltrami, Big Stone, Cass, Chippewa, Clay, Clearwater, Cook, Crow Wing, Douglas, Grant, Hubbard, Itasca, Kittson, Koochiching, Lac Qui Parle, Lake, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, Otter Tail, Pennington, Polk, Pope, Red Lake, Roseau, St Louis County, Stevens, Swift, Todd, Traverse, Wadena, Wilkin, and Yellow Medicine.

Residents should not have any fires burning in these counties when a Red Flag Warning is in effect. It’s recommended to check out any recent burning they may have done to ensure the fire is completely out.

A Red Flag Warning means that fires can spread quickly and easily get out of control, because of current weather conditions. The weather conditions that can cause out of control fires are low humidity, high winds, and warm temperatures. During a Red Flag Warning, campfires are discouraged by the Minnesota DNR. The DNR will not issue or activate any burning permits.

For more information about the Red Flag warning happening you can look here. Other information about the Red Flag warning can be found here.