Federal disaster assistance available for Minnesota flood recovery

President Joe Biden has approved a Major Disaster Declaration for Minnesota. This means FEMA dollars are available to supplement recovery efforts in the areas affected by severe storm and flooding from April 11-30.

Funding will be available to state, eligible local and tribal governments, and certain private non profit organizations for emergency work.

This includes Aitkin, Big Stone, Carlton, Chippewa, Clay, Grant, Houston, Kittson, Lac qui Parle, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Morrison, Norman, Pine, Pope, Renville, Roseau, St. Louis, Stevens, Swift, Traverse and Wilkin counties and the Prairie Island Indian Community.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Joseph P. Cirone has been named Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in these areas. Additional designations may be made at a later date if warranted by the results of damage assessments.