Russia puts Canadian leaders on sanctions list

The Russian Foreign Ministry says Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, Foreign Affairs Minister Melanie Joly, Defense Minister Anita Anand and other Canadian officials have been put on a sanctions list.

The ministry said in Tuesday’s statement that they have been barred from entering Russia in retaliation to Canadian sanctions against the Russian leadership. The Russian sanctions also targeted Canadian lawmakers.

The ministry said the decision was a forced move taken in response to “hostile actions by the current Canadian regime that has long tested our patience.”

The decision followed the announcement of Russian sanctions against U.S. President Joe Biden and senior members of his administration.