Vikings name 2022 captains

The Minnesota Vikings announced their eight captains for the 2022 season on Monday.

The four offensive captains will be Kirk Cousins, Dalvin Cook, Brian O’Neill and Adam Thielen.

Three defensive captains in Eric Kendricks, Harrison Smith and Patrick Peterson.

Along with a special teams captain that also received some offensive votes in C.J. Ham.

“I mean, that’s across offense, defense and special teams that’s something that I don’t know if I’ve been around, quite honestly, to have that kind of view of our team from their teammates,” head coach Kevin O’Connell said about the captains.

“Sometimes you get so wrapped up in Xs and Os and the individual sides of the ball that I need to make sure I remember that the most important thing in my role is our team and our players, and there’s no better way to stay connected to those guys than that group,” concluded O’Connell.