UMD’s James, Kaiser & Steeves named 2023 Hobey Baker Award nominees

[anvplayer video=”5158474″ station=”998130″]

The University of Minnesota Duluth (UMD) men’s hockey team has produced six Hobey Baker Award winners, and Thursday three were named 2023 nominees.

Dominic James, Wyatt Kaiser, and Ben Steeves are among this year’s 82 Hobey hopefuls.

Steeves, a rookie forward, leads the Bulldogs in scoring with 12 goals, points with 15, as well as shots (79) and power play goals (6).

A sohomore forward James is right behind him tallying 13 points so far this season, with seven goals and six assists.

A junior defender, Kaiser has notched seven points making 18 blocks during this season’s campaign.

Online voting is officially open now. 10 semifinalist will be named March 17 and the winner will be announced during the NCAA men’s Frozen Four April 8 in Tampa, Florida.

The Bulldogs last Hobey Baker Award winner was Scott Perunovich in 2020.