Premier Hockey Federation purchased by PWHPA

[anvplayer video=”5183366″ station=”998130″]

Thursday night multiple sources reported that the Premier Hockey Federation (PHF), the professional women’s hockey league home to the Minnesota Whitecaps, has been acquired by a new organization.

UPDATE: New pro women’s hockey league set to launch in January with 6 teams in North America.

TSN stated that the Mark Walter Group and Billie Jean King Enterprises, financers of the Professional Women’s Hockey Players’ Association (PWHPA), purchased the PHF. TSN’s Julia Tocheri also stated this move voids PHF players’ contracts.

This would impact several University of Minnesota Duluth (UMD) alums, including Whitecaps captain Sydney Brodt who recently signed a new two-year deal to stay with Minnesota. She told WDIO’s Alicia Tipcke on Wednesday that she planned for that to be her “full time job”.

Other former Bulldogs with PHF contracts as of Thursday include Anna Klein, Sidney Morin, Ashleigh Brykaliuk, and Maggie Flaherty with the Whitecaps, Emma Soderberg with the Connecticut Whale, and Naomi Rogge and Anneke Linser with the Metropolitan Riveters.

According to The Athletic’s Hailey Salvian players in both the PHF and PWHPA were informed in separate meetings on Thursday. A source close to the Whitecaps confirmed to WDIO the team was informed at a town hall meeting they were called to earlier on Thursday.

This ends a divide between the PHF and PWHPA as the two currently operating pro women’s hockey leagues in North America, and could result in one unified league.

The PHF is home to seven teams: the Boston Pride, the Buffalo Beauts, the Connecticut Whale, the Metropolitan Riveters, the Minnesota Whitecaps, La Force de Montréal, and the Toronto Six.