Superior woman to be honored as Volunteer of the Year

On Wednesday, Governor Tony Evers will recognize outstanding individuals and organizations at the 2024 Governor’s Service Awards. The honor will be given to those who have gone above and beyond to help their communities and the state. Katelyn Baumann of Superior will be recognized as a Volunteer of the Year.

Katelyn is on the Superior Public Museums Board, Duluth Superior Area Community Foundation, and works with the Children’s Memorial Garden. She joins eight other individuals and two organizations honored from across the state. Twenty-eight AmeriCorps Seniors will also be recognized for reaching 20 years of service.

According to the governors office, the honorees provide critical services that impact Wisconsin communities, including providing assistance to homeless youth, academic and social support for students, increasing access to health care and needed services, and filling gaps in support for populations throughout the state.

The 2024 Governor’s Service Awards Honorees are:

  • AmeriCorps Member of the Year – Kathryn Yang – Wisconsin Association for Homeless and Runaway Services at Pathfinders (Milwaukee)
  • AmeriCorps Alumni of the Year – Darnell Alexander Hamilton – served with Teach For America Milwaukee (Milwaukee)
  • AmeriCorps Seniors Volunteer of the Year – Jan Olmstead – RSVP of Rock County (Beloit)
  • AmeriCorps Seniors Lifetime Impact Volunteer – Carmen Kuss – Western Dairyland RSVP (Arcadia)
  • AmeriCorps Seniors Program of the Year – Encompass Early Education & Care Foster Grandparent Program (Green Bay and De Pere)
  • Marty Stein Friend of National Service Exemplary Supporter: Cindy Deckert – Southwest Wisconsin Community Action Program – Foster Grandparent Program (Dodgeville / Richland Center)

Volunteer of the Year:

  • Katelyn Baumann – Katelyn Baumann – Superior Public Museums Board, Duluth Superior Area Community Foundation, and the Children’s Memorial Garden (Superior)
  • Charles Fernandez Woodshop Mentors with RSVP of Portage County (Stevens Point)
  • Roger Johnson – A Child’s Smile (Oconomowoc)
  • Peyton Pascal – Eye Of A Child (Wauwatosa)
  • Ken Saville – Easterseals Wisconsin (Madison)

The Governor’s Service Awards ceremony will be held at the Green Lake Conference Center in Pillsbury Hall Hall at 3:00 p.m.

The Governor’s Service Awards are organized by Serve Wisconsin, the state board responsible for supporting the work of AmeriCorps programs and promoting volunteerism throughout the state. Find out more at