Joe Mauer elected to the National Baseball Hall of Fame

Minnesota Twins legend Joe Mauer has been elected to the National Baseball Hall of Fame by the baseball Writers Association of America. Mauer received 293 votes of 385 ballots and will join Adrián Beltré, Todd Helton and Jim Leyland (Contemporary Baseball Era Committee) in the Class of 2024.

Induction ceremonies are scheduled for Sunday, July 21 at 12:30 p.m. CT on the grounds of the Clark Sports Center in Cooperstown, New York. The Twins and their fans will also honor Mauer’s historic induction with an in-ballpark celebration prior to Minnesota’s Saturday, August 3 game vs. the Chicago White Sox at Target Field; more details will be announced at a later date.

Mauer, 40, joins Harmon Killebrew, Rod Carew, Kirby Puckett, Bert Blyleven, Jim Kaat and Tony Oliva as the seventh player to go into the Hall of Fame as a Twin, as well as the third Twin to be elected on the first ballot. He also becomes the 13th person in Twins/Senators franchise history to have a plaque in the Hall. This summer, Mauer will become the fourth St. Paul native to be enshrined into baseball’s most distinguished group. He is also just the third catcher in baseball history to be elected on the first ballot.

“On behalf of the Pohlad family and the entire Minnesota Twins organization it is our absolute pleasure to congratulate Joe Mauer on his deserved first-ballot election to the National Baseball Hall of Fame,” Twins President & CEO Dave St. Peter said. “Few people have embodied the values and spirit of the Minnesota Twins like Joe Mauer; from the moment his name was called on draft day in 2001, Joe has been a true hometown hero and a cornerstone of our organization. His humility, leadership, kindness and care for others, paired with his unparalleled excellence on the diamond, have made him a role model for generations of youth across our region.”