Who will advance for Itasca County Sheriff

With 30 percent of the precincts reporting, Joe Dasovich and Jeff Carlson have the highest number of votes in the Itasca County Sheriff’s race. Votes are still being counted as of midnight on Tuesday.

They could move on to November’s general election, and one will become the next Itasca County Sheriff.

There were four candidates on voters’ ballots: Jeff Carlson, Joe Dasovich, Bryan Johnson and Dale Kaiser.

Carlson is a Grand Rapids police sergeant. His campaign website says he has worked with the GRPD for the past 16 years, after serving as an officer in Moorhead and Leech Lake.

Dasovich is the police chief in Nashwauk. He also works as the EMS coordinator and served in the U.S. Army.

According to Johnson’s campaign Facebook page, he has been with the Itasca County Sheriff’s Office for 17 years as a jailer and deputy sheriff.

The Grand Rapids Herald Review reported that Kaiser has worked with the Itasca County Sheriff’s Office in some capacity for most of the last 41 years. The GRHR said he currently works as the department’s chaplain.

Current Itasca County Sheriff Vic Williams is retiring.