How Minnesota, Wisconsin Representatives voted on the debt ceiling bill

Late Wednesday, the U.S. House of Representatives approved a debt ceiling and budget cuts package, sending it to the Senate as the default deadline approaches. The hard-fought deal pleased few, but lawmakers said it was better to pass the bill, then fail to act and have the country default as soon as next week.

While many lawmakers had issues with the deal, the House easily passed it, 314-117, with 149 Republicans and 165 Democrats voting in favor of it.

Overall, the 99-page bill restricts spending for the next two years, suspends the debt ceiling into January 2025 and changes some policies, including imposing new work requirements for older Americans receiving food aid and greenlighting an Appalachian natural gas line that many Democrats oppose.

It bolsters funds for defense and veterans, and guts new money for Internal Revenue Service agents.

Raising the nation’s debt limit, now $31 trillion, ensures Treasury can borrow to pay already incurred U.S. debts.

With a Monday deadline to resolve the government’s debt ceiling crisis, the Senate is expected to vote on the bill by the end of the week.

Hubbard Broadcasting’s KSTP researched how the representatives from Minnesota and western Wisconsin voted:

  • Rep. Brad Finstad (R-Minn. First District) — No
  • Rep. Angie Craig (D-Minn. Second District) — Not voting (Craig broke her ankle and missed the vote but released a statement in support of the deal.)
  • Rep. Dean Phillips (D-Minn. Third District) — Yes
  • Rep. Betty McCollum (D-Minn. Fourth District) — Yes
  • Rep. Ilhan Omar (D-Minn. Fifth District) — Yes
  • Rep. Tom Emmer (R-Minn. Sixth District) — Yes
  • Rep. Michelle Fischbach (R-Minn. Seventh District) — No
  • Rep. Pete Stauber (R-Minn. Eighth District) — Yes
  • Rep. Derrick Van Orden (R-Wis. Third District) — Yes
  • Rep. Tom Tiffany (R-Wis. Seventh District) — No

Now, all eyes shift to the Senate.

There, Sen. Tina Smith (D-Minn.) has already said she’ll vote in support of the deal and Sen. Klobuchar (D-Minn.) is also expected to support the bill. It’s unclear if Sens. Ron Johnson (R-Wis.) and Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.) will support it.