Minnesota removes written driving exam for new residents
Moving is a pain for everyone, but a new law going into effect August 1st will help new Minnesota residents get their state issued drivers license faster and easier.
As of now, those who move to Minnesota have 30 days to get a new drivers license. With that, you also have to pass a written drivers test. This will eliminate the test so now all you have to do is find your local DMV, pay the fee and officials say your license will arrive within around a month.
Before you start to question this decision, the test doesn’t actually revolve around any Minnesota laws. New resident Jacob Moore says the questions are just about basic road skills. “It just asks how far you’re supposed to stay away from like a cyclist. How fast you’re supposed to go when a specific signs on a vehicle, things like that. I’d be willing to bet you I probably took the same test back home in Ohio.”
If you do move and forget to update your license within the 30-day span, you’ll run into trouble. Moore says, “I was pulled over about a month ago. The officer told me I had 30 days to get a new license or they’d tow my car.”
If you’re new to Minnesota and are in need of an updated drivers license, here’s what you’ll need to bring to your local DMV:
- Two documents that include your full name and birth date, such as a passport, military ID or marriage certificate.
- Out-of-state driver’s license or certified driving record.
- If you are eligible for a Social Security number, you must provide the number.
- The $38 fee for a class D license.
For more information, check out the Department of Public Safety’s Blog page.