Rep. Stauber and Rep. Tiffany provide statements on House Speaker Votes

Minnesota 8th District Congressman Pete Stauber cast his vote for Republican Arkansas Congressman Bruce Westerman for Speaker of the House during a vote on Wednesday.

Rep. Stauber joined 21 other Republicans who did not vote for Republican Rep. Jim Jordan of Ohio.

Jordan has now failed to secure the position of Speaker of the House in two rounds of voting.

WDIO reached out to Stauber’s office regarding his vote and was provided the following statement from the Congressman:

“The American people deserve a working Congress, and we need a Speaker in order to get back to work. I respect Jim Jordan and the important work he has done on the Judiciary Committee. However, after the first vote yesterday, it became clear that he cannot unite our Conference.”

Stauber had previously cast his vote for Jordan during the first round of voting.

Wisconsin 7th District Congressman Tom Tiffany voted for Jordan in both rounds of voting.

“Having served with him on the House Judiciary Committee for the last three years, I believe Jim Jordan is the right person to lead our conference,” said Congressman Tom Tiffany. “The House needs to get back to work, and House Republicans should unite behind Jim Jordan.”