Watch the Start: 2022 John Beargrease Sled Dog Marathon

The 2022 John Beargrease Sled Dog Marathon got underway at 10 a.m. on Sunday, January 30. This is the 38th year of the Beargrease series that features several races, including the longest sled dog marathon in the lower 48 states. WDIO streamed the start of the 300-mile marathon.

There are 24 teams competing in the 2022 300-mile marathon. These teams left the starting chute first, wearing cream-colored bibs on with sponsor logos.

There are 19 teams in the 120-mile race, two of whom are junior mushers. There will be 14 mushers in the recreational 40-miler.

WDIO will continue to have live coverage and stories from along the trail this week. It is expected to be a good race with five former champions running. Erin Letzring (2021), Ryan Redington (2020, 2018), Blake Freking (2019), Ryan Anderson (2017, 2015, 2011), and Nathan Schroeder (2016, 2014, 2013, 2010).