Redistricting: GOP Sens. Eichorn, Ruud fall in same district

Two Republican northern Minnesota state senators have a tough decision ahead. They now both fall in the same district.

Sens. Justin Eichorn (R-Grand Rapids) and Carrie Ruud (R-Breezy Point) both reside in the new Senate District 6.

Minnesota’s new districts were released Tuesday, part of a redistricting process that happens every decade.

Eichorn was elected District 5 in 2016 and re-elected in 2020. Ruud was first elected in 2002 then chosen to serve District 10 in 2012, 2016, and 2020.

Sen. Eichorn announced Thursday that he will seek the District 6 seat.

"It has been an honor to serve the people of Northern Minnesota in the State Senate," he said in a press release. "I look forward to having the opportunity to continue to serve some of the same constituents and getting to know all the new residents of Senate District 6."

Ruud has not yet announced her intentions.


Redistricting pits Range incumbents, changes Duluth districts

8th district grows to the west, south in redrawn maps