Candidates advance to Duluth general election

The ballots are counted, and 100% of Duluth precincts are reporting final results in tonight’s primary election for four open Duluth City Council seats.

Out of eight candidates, four will advance in the At-Large race. Azrin Awal, Terese Tomanek, Joe Macor, and Timothy Meyer will move on to the general election. Meyer had 989 votes, only one vote more than Ashlie Castaldo. A spokesperson with the City of Duluth says they will be going over those numbers again to ensure they are accurate.

Tomanek is the only incumbent councilor of the four candidates to advance. Awal, Macor, and Meyer are all first-time candidates.

As of now, Ashlie Castaldo, Scot Jenkins, Dezuwon Davila, and Nancy Stam will not be advancing in this race.

In the race for 2nd District City Council, Mike Mayou and Dave Zbaracki will advance to the general election. Mayou took 63% of the votes; Zabracki secured 19%. Andrew Jarocki and Andrew Hilfers were also candidates, but will not advance.

The seat is being vacated by Joel Sipress at the end of the year. Mayou ran for an at-large seat on the city council in 2019, finishing fourth in a close race for two seats.

In the race for 4th District, current Council President Renee Van Nett and former councilor Howie Hanson will advance. Van Nett secured 50% of the votes, and Hanson took 40%. Nathaniel Rankin will not move on.

Van Nett is the first Indigenous woman to lead the Duluth City Council.

Click here to see the full breakdown of results.