Canada bans travel from South Africa after discovery of new variant

The world is confronting a new coronavirus variant, and officials have named it “omicron."

As of Friday, Canada bannning entry of foreign nationals who have traveled through southern Africa after discovery of this new variant.

A World Health Organization panel has classified it as a highly transmissible virus of concern. Its discovery in southern Africa sent a chill through much of the world as nations raced to halt air travel, markets fell sharply and scientists held emergency meetings.

The overall risks of omicron are not yet known. But the 27-nation European Union and some other countries quickly suspended air travel from southern Africa and stepped up other precautions.