Feds OK Disaster Declaration for Wisconsin Storms

Feds OK Disaster Declaration for Wisconsin Storms

Updated: August 27, 2019 06:02 PM

MADISON, Wis. (AP) - Gov. Tony Evers says Wisconsin has received a federal disaster declaration for 17 counties and two tribes that sustained damage during severe storms in July.

Advertisement – Content Continues Below

Evers made the request to President Donald Trump's administration last week. The counties named in the declaration are Barron, Clark, Forest, La Crosse, Langlade, Menominee, Monroe, Oconto, Oneida, Outagamie, Polk, Portage, Rusk, Shawano, Vernon, Waupaca and Wood. The Menominee Indian Tribe of Wisconsin and the St. Croix Chippewa Indians of Wisconsin were also included. 

The governor also had requested Marinette County be included, but Evers' office says the Federal Emergency Management Agency is still reviewing that request.

State and federal agencies have verified more than $19.5 million in damage from thunderstorms, tornadoes and flooding from the storms between July 18 and July 20.

Tuesday's declaration allows local governments affected by the storms to apply for aid. The program is not for businesses or homeowners.

Under the program, FEMA covers 75 percent of eligible costs. State and local agencies share the remaining 25 percent.

Copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.


Two Harbors High School Closed Thursday After Rumor of Threat

Court Stays Two of PolyMet's Permits

Crews Rescue Woman from Sailboat on Breakwater

Capital Investment Committee Continues Site Infrastructure Tour

Pine Co. Man Accused of Deliberately Driving into River, Killing Passenger

UMD Multicultural Center Remodeled & Reopened