Megan Gustafson Named ESPNW National Player of the Year

WDIO Sports
Updated: March 15, 2019 10:49 PM

Port Wing, Wisconsin native and Iowa Senior Forward/Center Megan Gustafson is the ESPNW National Player of the Year.

Advertisement – Content Continues Below

The former South Shore High School standout is unanimous selection and she is the first ESPNW Player of the Year in program history. She was named a unanimous first-team All-American by ESPNW on Thursday.

Gustafson leads the country in field goal percentage (69.6), points per game (28.0), total points (897), and field goals made (369), ranks second in double-doubles (30) and defensive rebounds per game (10), third in total rebounds (424), and fourth in rebounds per game (13.3).

Gustafson is the only Hawkeye in program history to win the Big Ten Conference's player of the year award twice. She is the ninth two-time Big Ten Player of the Year in conference history.

Gustafson is also one of five finalists for the 2019 Lisa Leslie Award, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women's Basketball Coaches Association announced Friday.

Iowa won the Big Ten Championship and will head to the NCAA Division I Women's Tournament. The Selection Show airs Monday, March 18 at 6 p.m. (CT) on ESPN.


WDIO Sports

Copyright 2019 WDIO-TV LLC, a Hubbard Broadcasting Company. All rights reserved

Relay Media Amp

Northlanders Learn about Community Supported Agriculture Farms

Hungry Wolves Relocated to Isle Royale National Park

Barr: Not Enough Evidence of Trump Obstruction

Hope for Gubernatorial Pardons Renewed in Wisconsin

Study: Minnesota Sees Jump in Homelessness Since 2015

Charges: UMN Worker Stole $134,000 in Computers from School