1,800 Bikers Participate in 7th Annual Lutsen 99er

1,800 Bikers Participate in 7th Annual Lutsen 99er

Eyewitness Sports
June 24, 2017 03:59 PM

Lutsen, Minn. - The rain and cool weather kept things comfortable for the 1,800 bikers who participated in four challenging mountain bike events on Lutsen Mountains today: the legendary 99-mile Lutsen 99er, the 69-mile Lutsen 69er, the 39-mile Lutsen 39er, and the 19-mile Lutsen 19er.

Advertisement – Content Continues Below

Race Director Peter Spencer of LifeTime congratulated the athletes on their performances in challenging weather conditions. “The course got pretty muddy,” said Spencer in a press release. “But, most of the riders had a great race and a very enjoyable time in one of the most beautiful parts of Minnesota.”

“The 2017 Lutsen 99er winner, Corey Stelljes of Madison, Wis. finished the 99-mile mountain bike race in 5:36:01 – that is a whopping 17.68 MPH average,” says Linda Jurek, Executive Director of Visit Cook County in a press release. “Considering that the course gains and loses over 7,000 feet of vertical, that is an incredible pace to maintain!”


Top 5 male winners for the 2017 Lutsen 99er

1. Corey Stelljes, 05:36:01, Madison, Wis.

2. Brian Jensen, 05:38:15, Broomfield, Colo.

3. Brad Auen, 05:38:49, Logan, Iowa.

4. Jeff Hall, 05:39:30, Farmington, Minn.

5. Jason Siegle, 05:55:01, Solvang, Calif.

Top 5 female winners for the 2017 Lutsen 99er

17. Larissa Connors, 06:23:47, Silverado, Calif.

77. Emily Nordahl, 07:04:00, Neenah, Wis.

88. Christina Ross, 07:07:45, Chaska, Minn.

94. Jill Cederholm, 07:09:51, Saint Paul, Minn.

125. Leah Prudhomme, 07:21:27, Champlin, Minn.

Top 5 male winners for the 2017 Lutsen 69er

1. Josh Molnar, 04:06:04, Wayzata, Minn.

2. Chad Sova, 04:10:48, Mequon, Wis.

3. Keith Ailey, 04:33:32, Thunder Bay, Ontario

4. Rod Raymond, 04:33:45, Duluth, Minn.

5. Casey LaJoie, 04:34:17, Iron River, Wis.

Top 5 female winners for the 2017 Lutsen 69er

18. Ronnie Wick, 05:02:25, Iron River, Wis.

19. Kristina Morse, 05:05:42, Hayward, Wis.

32. Michelle Jensen, 05:22:38, Broomfield, Colo.

34. Marilyn Ailey, 05:23:26, Thunder Bay, Ontario.

44. Meghan Conrad, 05:33:53, Chaska, Minn.

Top 5 male winners for the 2017 Lutsen 39er

1. Pavel Nelson, 02:19:18, Cameron, Wis.

2. Nick Zawadski, 02:19:18, Saint Paul, Minn.

3. Levi Hayden, 02:20:22, Duluth, Minn.

4. Dave Christensen, 02:20:36, Mound, Minn.

5. Ian Derauf, 02:21:58, Duluth, Minn.

Top 5 female winners for the 2017 Lutsen 39er

39. Madeline Aprin, 02:42:18, Minneapolis, Minn.

46. Heather Stelljes, 02:44:47, Madison, Wis.

48. Kerrie Berg, 02:45:06, Bemidji, Minn.

53. Kristine Maki, 02:46:23, Hayward, Wis.

57. Jennifer Swift, 02:47:07, Hayward, Wis.

Top 5 male winners for the 2017 Lutsen 19er

1. Justin Ratzlaff, 01:03:00, Saint Bonifacius, Minn.

2. Eric Seng, 01:08:39, Minneapolis, Minn.

3. Everett Myers, 01:10:20, Stillwater, Minn.

4. Brady Rinn-Foss, 01:12:13, Winona, Minn.

6. Josh Hoban, 01:12:37, Duluth, Minn.

Top 5 female winners for the 2017 Lutsen 19er

5. McKenzie Radloff, 01:12:34, Duluth, Minn.

18. Isabella Mazion, 01:20:26, Minneapolis, Minn.

19. Emily Carlson, 01:22:03, Saint Paul

20. Sarah Hay, 01:23:11, Thunder Bay, Ontario

21. Raegan Hinrichs, 01:23:12, Minneapolis, Minn.

For more results, click here.

(Contributions from Kristen M. Rebollo, Senior PR Associate, LIN Public Relations, Inc.)


Eyewitness Sports

Copyright 2017 WDIO-TV LLC, a Hubbard Broadcasting Company. All rights reserved

Relay Media Amp

Multiple Agencies in Duluth Preparing for President Trump's Visit

Loan Program Aimed at Revitalizing Cloquet's West End

27 New Foods at the Minnesota State Fair

LS&M Railroad Cleans Up Fall Storm Damage

City of Duluth Holding Drawing for Vacation Unit Permits

Capstone Apartments Being Built in Miller Hill Mall Area