Who's Invited to State of the Union

Who's Invited to State of the Union

Updated: February 04, 2019 02:54 PM

Each member of Congress is allowed to invite one guest to President Donald Trump's State of the Union address.  Here are the guests announced so far by lawmakers from our region:



  • Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D) invited Nicole Smith-Holt, a Twin Cities resident whose diabetic son died because he struggled to afford his prescription insulin.
  • Sen. Tina Smith (D) invited Lt. Gov. Peggy Flanagan, who is the nation's highest-ranking Native American woman ever elected to executive office.


  • Sen. Tammy Baldwin (D) invited Diane Whitcraft, a retired educator from Webster who decided to stop buying medication to treat her multiple sclerosis because she could no longer afford it.
  • Rep. Sean Duffy (R) invited his wife, Rachel Campos-Duffy.
  • Sen. Ron Johnson (R) invited a longtime staffer.


  • Rep. Jack Bergman (R) gave his guest ticket to another representative so he could bring a second guest.
  • Sen. Gary Peters (D) invited Dr. Philomena Mantella, the incoming president of Grand Valley State University.
  • Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D) is not bringing a guest due to the change in date for the address.

The president's address will be delivered in the House chamber on Tuesday evening. Live coverage from ABC News will begin at 8 p.m. Central time on WDIO.

Copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.

Relay Media Amp

Classic car auction to support Wounded Warriors

Essentia donating 20,000 masks to local organizations

$100 million in housing relief to be available for Minnesotans

Minntac and Minorca each have one case of COVID-19

First day of face covering requirement in Duluth

Chalk Your Walk for Craig campaign on the Range