Advertisement

Michigan Governor Approves 30-Day License Plate Grace Period

Michigan residents will get a grace period for displaying new license plates under a bill signed by Gov. Snyder. Michigan residents will get a grace period for displaying new license plates under a bill signed by Gov. Snyder. |  Photo: State of Michigan

Updated: March 14, 2018 05:40 PM

LANSING, Mich. (AP) - Michigan has approved a 30-day grace period for displaying a license plate on vehicles.

Advertisement – Content Continues Below

Gov. Rick Snyder signed the bill Wednesday, affording Michiganders 30 days from the time of vehicle registration or renewal to display a registration plate while driving.

During the 30-day buffer, drivers are instead required to present paper or electronic verification through the Law Enforcement Information Network when asked for proof of registration.

Michigan Secretary of State Ruth Johnson praises the bill signing, saying the law frees up drivers who renew online and do not immediately have an updated label to affix on their license plates.

Copyright 2018 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Relay Media Amp

American Spirit Vessel Freed After Running Aground in Duluth Harbor

Storms Wash Out Roads in Upper Peninsula

Traffic Restrictions for Central Entrance, Mesaba Avenue Begin Monday

Mountain Iron Family Celebrates New Home

Bayfield County Advises No Travel Due To Flooding

Flooding a Concern Across Northern Wisconsin; Roads Closed

Advertisement