What's On the Ballot in Northeastern Minnesota?

What's On the Ballot in Northeastern Minnesota?

Updated: August 10, 2018 02:04 PM

Voters headed to the polls for Tuesday's primary elections will be faced with dozens of names in federal, state, and local races.

Advertisement – Content Continues Below

There are 28 Democrats and 15 Republicans running for the six federal and statewide seats on the ballot.  Additionally, there are primary elections in numerous county and city elections.

In a rare circumstance, voters will find two U.S. Senate seats on the ballot due to the resignation of Al Franken. The winner of the special election for that seat, currently held by Tina Smith, will serve the remainder of what would have been Franken's term.

Though all voters will receive the same ballot listing both parties, they may only vote for candidates from one party.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Tuesday, August 14. Visit to find your polling places and get other information about elections.

Here is a listing of candidates in each race:


US Senate (full term) (D)
Steve Carlson (D)
Stephen A. Emery (D)
David Robert Groves (D)
Amy Klobuchar (D) (incumbent) (endorsed candidate)
Leonard J. Richards (D)

US Senate (full term) (R)
Merrill Anderson (R)
Rae Hart Anderson (R)
Roque "Rocky" De La Fuente (R)
James Newberger (R) (endorsed candidate)

US Senate (partial term/special election) (D)
Ali Chehem Ali (D)
Gregg A. Iverson (D)
Nick Leonard (D)
Richard W. Painter (D)
Christopher Lovell Seymore Sr. (D)
Tina Smith (D) (incumbent) (endorsed candidate)

US Senate (partial term/special election) (R)
Bob Anderson (R)
Nikolay Nikolayevich Bey (R)
Karin Housley (R) (endorsed candidate)

US House - Minn. 8th District (D)
Kirsten Kennedy (D)
Michelle Lee (D)
Jason Metsa (D)
Joe Radinovich (D)
Soren Christian Sorenson (D)

US House - Minn. 8th District (R)
Pete Stauber (R) (endorsed candidate)
Harry Welty (R)


Governor (D)
Tim Holden & James P. Mellin II (DFL)
Erin Murphy & Erin Maye-Quade (DFL) (endorsed candidates)
Ole Savior & Chris Edman (DFL)
Lori Swanson & Rick Nolan (DFL)
Tim Walz & Peggy Flanagan (DFL)

Governor (R)
Jeff Johnson & Donna Bergstrom (R) (endorsed candidates)
Mathew Kruse & Theresa Loeffler (R)
Tim Pawlenty & Michelle Fischbach (R)

Attorney General (D)
Keith Ellison (DFL)
Tom Foley (DFL)
Debra Hilstrom (DFL)
Matt Pelikan (DFL) (endorsed candidate)
Mike Rothman (DFL)

Attorney General (R)
Sharon Anderson (R)
Robert Lessard (R)
Doug Wardlow (R) (endorsed candidate)

NOTE: This article had previously listed a primary election in the state auditor's race, but there is not actually a primary election in that race because one of the candidates dropped out before the ballot deadline.

Minn. House District 6B
Shaun Hainey (DFL) (endorsed candidate)
Dave Lislegard (DFL)


Aitkin Co. Commissioner District 3 (two advance)
Todd R. Johnson
Robert Marcum
Donald Niemi (incumbent)

Aitkin Co. Commissioner District 5 (two advance)
Anne Marcotte (incumbent)
Stephanie Payment
Galen N. Tveit

Bemidji City Council At Large (two advance)
Lawrence Hanenberger
Don Heinonen
Jim Thompson

Bemidji City Council Ward 4 (two advance)
Richard Lehmann (incumbent)
Linda L. Lemmer
Emelie E. Rivera

Carlton Co. Commissioner District 4 (two advance)
Michael K. Gay
Brenda Martini
Randy L. McCuskey
Mark J. Thell
Susan K. Zmyslony (incumbent)

Chisholm Mayor (two advance)
John Champa
Brandan L. Fiedler
Mary Jo Rahja (incumbent)
Jim Varda
NOTE: Thomas Frank Novoselac dropped out of the race

Chisholm City Council (four advance)
Beau Buncich
Jedediah Anthony Holewa
Adam M. Lantz
April Larson
Cheynne Mikkola-Rahja (incumbent)
Oliver Putkonen III
Kevin R. Scaia (incumbent)

Chisholm City Council Special Election (two advance)
Dillon Anderson
Chris Erickson
Ciri Falcone
Marty Halverson (incumbent)
Travis Vake

Cloquet Mayor (two advance)
Andy Lee Angell
Trevor J. Berg
Dave Hallback (incumbent)
Roger Maki

Cloquet City Council At Large special election (two advance)
Elizabeth Jaakola
Les Riess
Lara Wilkinson
Barb Wyman (incumbent)

Cloquet City Council Ward 3 (two advance)
Richard L. Colsen
Randy Flynn
Dakota C. Koski

Cook Co. Commissioner District 3 (two advance)
Mickey Brazell
Dave Mills
Jean Marie Modl

Cook Co. Commissioner District 5 (two advance)
Bruce Martinson
Don McKeever
Ginny Storlie (incumbent)
Bruce Zimpel

Gilbert City Council At Large Special Election (two advance)
Christain Ogilvie
Robert Pontinen (incumbent)
Jeremy Skenzich

Itasca Co. Attorney (two advance)
Matti R. Adam
John Dimich
Ellen E. Tholen

Itasca Co. Sheriff (two advance)
Jeffrey Carlson
Bryan Johnson
Ken Weis
Victor Williams (incumbent)

Itasca Co. Commissioner District 1 (two advance)
Lori Dowling-Hanson
James D. Rasley
Davin Tinquist (incumbent)

Red Lake School Board (eight advance)
Deanna K. Lasley
Robert McClain
Alyss B. Mountain
Roy Nelson Sr. (incumbent)
Rae Lynn Sayers
Cheryl Schoenborn
Nathaniel Taylor
Barb Thomas (incumbent)
Marcus Tyler

St. Louis Co. Commissioner District 4 (two advance)
Mike Forsman
Paul Kess
Kristin Larsen
Paul McDonald
Daniel Manick
Bernie Mettler
Christine Schlotec

St. Louis Co. Auditor/Treasurer (two advance)
Donald Dicklich (incumbent)
Brandon Larson
Nancy Nilsen

Two Harbors City Council At Large (two advance)
Zachary L. Anderson
Jacqueline M. Rennwald
Joel Schultz

Copyright 2019 WDIO-TV LLC, a Hubbard Broadcasting Company. All rights reserved

Relay Media Amp

Duluth City Council to Consider Tightening Rules for Massage Therapists

Multiple Agencies Hold Procession to Honor Fallen Conservation Officer

United Taconite, Government to Settle Federal Lawsuit Over Air Pollution

I-35 Project to Cause Lane and Ramp Closures Starting Monday

Easter Sunday Bomb Blasts Kill more than 200 in Sri Lanka

New Church in Duluth Opens on Easter Sunday