Jason Rarick Wins District 11 Special Election

Jason Rarick Wins District 11 Special Election

Updated: February 05, 2019 10:40 PM

Republican Jason Rarick has won the Minnesota's Senate District 11 special election. 

Advertisement – Content Continues Below

With 101 of 103 precincts reporting, Rarick has 52 percent of the vote. 

The Republican Party of Minnesota said, "Today, Minnesotans voted for the candidate who would best represent them and it is no surprise Jason Rarick came out on top."

Rarick was up against Democrat Stu Lourey and Legalize Marijuana candidate John "Sparky" Birrenbach. Lourey received about 45 percent of the vote, and Birrenbach got about 2 percent. 

This is a developing story. Check back for updates.

Copyright 2019 WDIO-TV LLC, a Hubbard Broadcasting Company. All rights reserved

Relay Media Amp

Pres. Trump Declares National Emergency to Get Funding for Border Wall

3 Dead, Deputy Injured in North-Central Minn. Shooting

An "Old Fashioned Winter" is Making Snow Removal Tough

Sheriff: Man Accidentally Fires Gun Inside Ironwood Walmart

Roses, Step Aside: UMD Puts Orchid Collection on Display

Northlanders Celebrate V-Day with Unique, Loving Traditions