Duluth produces large pool of national talent for USA Curling Team

Tuesday night the USA Curing National Team released their 2022-2023 roster and Duluth is once again well represented.

It includes Duluth natives John Shuster and Chris Plys on the men’s teams, and Cory Christensen and Lexi Lanigan on the women’s teams. Fellow Duluth native Aileen Geving is paired with Shuster for mixed doubles.

Additionally University of Minnesota Duluth’s (UMD) John Landsteiner and Kory Dropkin were named to the roster.

When asked why Duluth produces so much national team level talent, USA Curling National coach Phill Drobnick praised the atmosphere at the Duluth Curling Club.

"They promote that at a young age and really they’ve been able to transition athletes from juniors all the way to the adult world," Drobnick said. "Then having people to look up to like a John Shuster, Chris Plys, Cory Christensen, that’s meant a lot for that community."

Drobnick added that these Duluth athletes have done a lot to help grow the sport of curling.

"John [Shuster] has been instrumental in USA Curling dating back to 2006 when he made his first Olympic debut. Him being able to carry the flag in the [2022 Olympic] opening ceremonies was such a special moment. Chris Plys has a great social media presence and now we have Korey Dropkin who’s right on their heels."

The 58 athlete USA Curing National Team will begin the season at the National Team Camp August 4-7 in Eagan. For more information, click here.

The 2022-23 USA Curling National Team Roster is as follows:

Men’s (2):

John Shuster, Chris Plys, Matt Hamilton, John Landsteiner, Colin Hufman

Korey Dropkin, Andrew Stopera, Mark Fenner, Tom Howell

Women’s (2):

Tabitha Peterson, Cory Christensen, Becca Hamilton, Tara Peterson

Sarah Anderson, Leah Yavarow, Lexi Lanigan, Taylor Anderson

Mixed Doubles (6):

Cory Christensen/Korey Dropkin

Becca Hamilton/Matt Hamilton

Vicky Persinger/Chris Plys

Sarah Anderson/Andrew Stopera

Taylor Anderson/Ben Richardson

Aileen Geving/John Shuster

U25 (1 men’s, 1 women’s, 1 mixed doubles):

Men’s: Danny Casper, Ben Richardson, Chase Sinnett, Luc Violette

Women’s: Delaney Strouse, Anne O’Hara, Sydney Mullaney, Susan Dudt, Rebecca Rodgers

Mixed Doubles: Delaney Strouse/Danny Casper

Developmental Pool (8 women, 4 men):

Women: Elizabeth Cousins, Madison Bear, Cora Farrell, Allison Howell, Taylor Drees, Annmarie Dubberstein, Jenna Burchesky, Elizabeth Janiak

Men: Aidan Oldenburg, Riley Fenson, Connor Kauffman, Sam Strouse

Junior U21 (1 men’s, 1 women’s):

Men’s: Ethan Sampson, Kevin Tuma, Coleman Thurston, Marius Kleinas, Jake Zeman

Women’s: Jordan Hein, Anna Tamboli, Amelia Hintz, Tessa Thurlow, Miranda Scheel

Wheelchair (8 athletes):

Matt Thums, Steve Emt, David Samsa, Shawn Sadowski, Dan Rose, Pam Wilson, Laura Dwyer, Oyuna Uranchimeg