New Duluth City Councilors Sworn In

Updated: 01/07/2014 12:07 PM
Created: 01/06/2014 10:42 PM

Two new Duluth city councilors will take part in their first meetings later this month after a swearing-in ceremony Monday.

Councilors Zack Filipovich and Barb Russ will take the seats of now former councilors Dan Hartman and Jim Stauber. The event at the Sheraton Hotel recognized new councilors, and those leaving.

"I have never been more excited about a council coming in. I think we have a really good mix of folks that are dedicated to the operations of city government," Duluth Mayor Don Ness said.

Filipovich said "I want to use some of the economic development tools that we have in the city to make sure it continues to grow and prosper like it has been."

Howie Hanson was also sworn in at ceremony, although he has been filling Garry Krause's 4th District seat since November.

Front Page

  • Justin's 2014-2015 Winter Prediction

    Winter is right around the corner and the question on everybody's mind is will we have a winter like last year.  With record stretches of cold and record snowfall last year is one we one like to forget. Chief meteorologist Justin Liles lets us know what we can expect this year

  • Woman in Douglas Co. Shootout was found Unresponsive in House Fire Day Before

    A 22-year-old Lake Nebagamon woman was hospitalized on Wednesday evening after an armed standoff with the Douglas County Sheriff's Office. On Tuesday, authorities say that same woman was found by her neighbors unresponsive and not breathing after they saw flames coming from a downtown Lake Nebagamon home. 

  • Funding for Military Funeral Personnel Restored

    On Thursday, Rep. Rick Nolan received a letter from the Secretary of the Army that funding for the playing of "Taps," a rifle salute, and delivering a folded American flag will be restored.

  • Preparing for Ebola: Health System Working Together

    People who work in the Northland's health system are communicating on a regular basis, to prepare for Ebola, even though it's unlikely to appear here.

  • St. Luke's Honored by American Heart Association

    St. Luke's received three honors from the American Heart Association on Thursday, for their approach and teamwork when taking care of heart and stroke patients.


Lake Effect Snow Advisory

Expires: 10/31/2014 11:00 AM

Lake Effect Snow Advisory

MI AREAS AFFECTED: Gogebic; Houghton; Keweenaw; Ontonagon; Southern Houghton
Expires: 10/31/2014 12:00 PM

Lakeshore Flood Advisory

MI AREAS AFFECTED: Alger; Baraga; Gogebic; Houghton; Keweenaw; Marquette; Ontonagon
Expires: 10/31/2014 2:00 PM